Alastair MACK

I am originally from the UK but I graduated High School in Malaysia. Over the last 12 years I have taught Mathematics in England, Saudi Arabia and China. My wife and I met while working in Saudi Arabia, and our girls were born while we were working in China. When I am not working, I am playing with my twin girls. Some of my hobbies are football, squash and golf, although I’ll play just about anything.


I was born and bred in Zimbabwe where I have taught Mathematics for eight years before moving to Orlando, Florida, USA. I taught Mathematics in Florida for three years until I relocated to Hong Kong. During my free time, I enjoy playing tennis, that’s just for fun, I am still an amateur. I love playing chess and I find joy in teaching others how to play it. I also love seeing new places, listening to music and cooking.


I was born in the Philippines but spent most of my time growing up in Japan and California. I have nearly 20 years of teaching mathematics under my belt with prior experiences in New York City, the San Francisco Bay Area, and Berlin. I went into education with a social justice lens, working to combat systemic issues of inequity.  I always consider myself a work in progress. I am here with my husband and three young children. Outside of the classroom, you might find me running, traveling, hip hop dancing, eating and then eating some more.


I am from India and have travelled extensively around the world. I have many years of teaching Maths, English, and Value Education. I also have experience in positions such as an activities coordinator counsellor and as a support teacher. I was privileged to work with a wide age group of students ranging from 3-16 in various places including Dubai, UAE, India, and Hong Kong. I joined DC in November 2012 to support the LDT team (Secondary Mathematics and Science focus) and am excited to continue my passion for teaching Maths.  I have two grown-up boys, and I live in Tung Chung. I enjoy helping and guiding students to reach their potential. Apart from teaching I am interested in community service, music, and reading.

Anson CHAI

I am from Singapore and have taught Maths in International Schools in Hong Kong since 2003. I like living in Hong Kong and find it truly an international city. I take part in many sports, including basketball, swimming, jogging, badminton, football, hiking and going to the gym. I have coached basketball teams in Hong Kong with some success. I also like to cook, and find seafood in Hong Kong amongst the world’s finest. However, my absolute favourite food in this world is Singapore chilli crab.


I was educated in Canada where I taught for 14 years before coming to Hong Kong in 1993. I returned to Canada in 1996 but in 2000 made the decision to return to international teaching in Hong Kong where I have spent the last 15 years. I feel honored to be part of the DC team and enjoy the excitement of working in this school. In my spare time I like to keep active by running and cycling. I currently live in Causeway Bay.