Year 2


I am originally from a small community on the outskirts of Vancouver, Canada. Having taught a range of year levels, I would undoubtedly say my passion remains in the primary years. During my spare time, I enjoy spending time with my husband and two sons. We love to travel, ski, hike, play tennis and explore the many trails in and around Discovery Bay.


I am originally from Perth, Western Australia; however, Hong Kong has been my home for the last 15 years. I have worked in various school settings, from large International schools in Hong Kong and the United Kingdom to small community schools in remote Australia. Previously I have worked at ESF Beacon Hill School and ESF Glenealy School.

When I am not teaching, I enjoy spending time with my husband and two boys, cooking, reading, and sewing. I love to design and create things with my own hands. You may also see me coaching the Lantau Island Aussie Rules Football Team – Go Lizards!


I am originally from Akron, Ohio, USA, but began my teaching career in the Pacific Northwest in Portland, Oregon. I found my passion for international education while teaching kindergarteners in Seoul, South Korea, and pre-kindergarteners in Shanghai, China. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience of immersing myself in another culture, language, and way of life. From these experiences, I knew I wanted to be a part of the international community at Discovery College. I feel so lucky to be surrounded by like-minded students and staff where international-mindedness is valued and global citizenship is practiced on a daily basis. Outside of the classroom, I enjoy reading, hiking and exploring Hong Kong.


I am originally from the United States, where I grew up in Northern Virginia, but I consider California home too. I have taught for over ten years internationally, including positions in Japan, Indonesia, Norway, and the United Kingdom. 

My classroom is a learning space that encourages curiosity, empathy, and fun learning! I love physical movement, from running, cycling, Crossfit, to yoga. As a qualified yoga teacher, I like to incorporate elements of it into my classroom. In my free time, I enjoy spending it with my husband and two children, aged 6 and 4.

Shaila SUBBA

I was born in Darjeeling, however, have lived in Hong Kong nearly all my life. I am mother to two teenagers and a mini Schnauzer. I enjoy hiking, reading and watching good movies.


I was born and raised in Liverpool, England. I have been living in Asia and the Middle East since 2013. I relocated back to Hong Kong from the UAE with my husband and children in June 2020. Hong Kong is my home away from home and we settled back into life here as if we have never been away. While in the UAE I worked as an Education Assistant for four years in British curriculum school, where I discovered the joy of working with children. I really enjoy being a part of an amazing teaching team at Discovery College. When I am not working, I like spending time with my family, reading and swimming.

Madeleine STANDER

Goeie Dag! (Hello in Afrikaans.) I was born and raised in lovely Johannesburg, South Africa, the “City of Gold” before moving to my new home Hong Kong. I previously worked in administration, finance and at the Veterinarian – and YES…I do Loooove dogs! I absolutely love the lifestyle that “home” now offers me – the hiking, the FOOD, the culture, diversity, exploring, people and the weather (my hair disagrees on this one). Last but not least, I really enjoy being part of the Discovery College family.